top of page

7 reasons why you should read "Throne of Glass" by Sarah J. Maas


Hello, Angels!


It's Thursday - the week is at it's peak, it's sunny outside - but it's still cold. It's typical spring paradice. What about me? Well, I am sitting on my couch, enjoying the warmth inside my living room (because I really don't want want to shiver outside in the cold), and just as usual I am enjoying my cup of coffee and reading. I am thinking now, is there any chance to die from overdose with too much caffeine? Let's not test that theory.


I am sitting and reading the books from "Throne of Glass" series by Sarah J. Maas, and I do hope that so far you've noticed that I am quite obsessed with everything related to Sarah J. Maas and her Series - "Throne of Glass" and "A Court of Thorns and Roses". Maybe it's about time to write a letter to Sarah, you know as a devoted fan... Hm.. Maybe I will.



Now let's get back to the topic, after we've clarified that I am obsessed with Sarah J. Maas and her books. I have read all the books from "A Court of Thorns and Roses" last December 2018. I will read them again thoough, just so I can write a review for all of them. And no, don't you dare think that this is because of Rhysand - that is so not relevant and absurd! I can proudly say that now I have almost read "Heir of Fire" and just as usual I am amazed by Sarah's talent. Before I jump in to the review to "Heir of Fire" I would like to stop for a moment and give you not one or two, but seven reasons why you should read "Throne of Glass" Series!



The World

To be honest (and I always am) I am a huge fan of Fantasy books, series, well.. Books in general. When it comes to Fantasy - if the world is interesting, filled with colorful mesmerizing and breathtaking nature, it's strange and unknown and really complicated - then I'm there, I've already moved in. The world in "Throne of Glass" Series is beautiful, filled with amazing characters, with amazing descriptions and portrayal of the characters, but never boring. You can imagine everything that is there if it is in front of you in the real world, like you're already in there. That is something that not many authors can do without using on every other page the trivial description of the couch in front of you and the lamp next to him. Sarah is far away from those stuff and her world is magnetic, magical, mysterious and glamorous... Unique.


The Races

I like Sarah's way of describing and forming the characters and their races. Considering I've read a severe amount of books with witches, vampires, werewolves, elves and all magical and mythical creatures you can think of, I can bravely say that in a huge amount of all those books - the races are the same. They lack the identity, the character, the individuality... Yeah, like every single time the most beautiful, sexy and scary vampires, werewolves and other creatures became loving, kind, and other gooey stuff... You just want to not to read a book because you already know what the main character will be... It's different with Sarah. With Sarah we have elves, humans, witches, fairies. But even the mythical and ancient elves, that Sarah uses for the main race in her books are far from the trivial elven image. Sarah's elves are not at all kind, frinedly, although they are deadly beautiful. I like the effect of the non - trivial way of writing and describing the races because it makes the book so much more interesting.



The Magical World

After all I am a huge Fantasy fan and just like a decent one I can't miss out to mention the magical world of Sarah J. Maas in "Throne of Glass". And trust me when I say this - I am sucker for magical worlds and in the very moment that I see that a fantasy books has one - I can't miss it. There is no Fairy Godmother in the books, or waving a magical wand or even magical fairy dust. However we have a very different and higher form of Magic - it's a source of power, coming deep within the character's souls. The Magic that makes the world all so magical is rough, different. In one moment is there and in the next is gone - it makes you carefully think about all the details, so you can imagine every spark just so you would not forget it. The characters that can weild the magic are facing many challenges in order to tame it. Everything is amazingly well written and it makes you hold your breath. It makes you want more and more. And if that is not enough for you - then it's only fair to mention that with all of those many details that are carefully tangled in the story, there's just no way you could go to sleep. You will definitely want to stay up in the middle of the night, whole night just so you could find out what will happen and where the magical world will lead us next.




The Story


It's only fair to say that I am very careful an picky when it comes to the storyline of a book, and trust me when I say this - if the storyline was not captivating or interesting, I wouldn't even bother in reading it. Sarah definitely knows how to write - with all the surprising moments, all the captivating details, the well written and very carefully chosen difficult past that reveals itself with every single page. And she is doing it with with such a grace, that it keeps you anticipated throughout the whole book, even after it has ended. The storyline is definitely mesmerizing, very well written and entangling the present, past and memories of the characters just to keep you in a constant suspence when the past would be revealed before your eyes.


The Characters

I cannot pass by the characters. I am obliged to mention them. Sarah's characters in "Throne of Glass" are different, interesting and countless. With every single page the characters that appear are more and more. Sometimes you think that they are useless and unnecessary to be present, but then they make a come back and buld up the storyline of the main characters. It's so twisted and tangled with all those characters - every single one with their own dreams, past, hopes and desire for a better life. And all of those characters, even though you just might think that they are useless to be mentioned, are the main tool that bulds the main character's lives. Sarah is very careful when using this tool to buld the main character's lives, and even the life that surrounds them. After all - even in real life it's not like we live alone, we have other people around us, people that surround us and are still present in our lives by different circumstances. This is the exact tool that Sarah uses in here - she makes the main characters to seem so real, like they're not mythical beings from a fairy tale, but living, breathing people that are dealing with the difficult thing called life. The characters are so well build that it feels like it all unravels itself before your eyes, it's like we are just observing their lives.


Celaena Sardothien


Well, I am sorry for being so trivial, but there's nothing else I could mention. I have to mention it. And I can't say a lot aboout her (well I can, but I don't have the time for that and you will not have the patience to read it). All I could say for Celaena is that she is Adarlan's Best Assassin. She is powerful, beautiful, brave, strong, amazing, sarcastic, sometimes annoying, spontaneous, and very interesting. She is a Queen. The world in "Throne of Glass" is spinning around her. It's her world and she must save it. This is her life, her past, her memories, her destiny. She is the most complicated character in the series and I can guarantee - she will make you fall in love with her. And the more and more you read throughout the books, the more you are entering her life, her thoughts, her memories - you will be eager to find out more and more about her. That I also can guarantee! Well, fine, you can just want a Rowan, just like hers - but of course, in real like.


P.S. I really would love to have a real life Rowan for myself.


I think that it's time to leave you here. If you haven't read the series - I think it's about time that you do! If you have already read it - then please, message me with your thoughts about it. Maybe we can go out and about for a cup of coffee and talk about it. Okay, fine we will mostly talk about Rowan, or Dorian perhaps.


I am going now back to Celaena and her world, and you can keep an eye on the blog for the review of "Heir of Fire", because it's coming very soon. (*Spoiler Alert* Just in a couple of hours).


Don't stop reading, my dearest Angels! And don't forget: A book a day, keeps the reality away!


XoXo, -K.

265 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page