top of page

What it's like to live forever? Alyson Noel tells us in "Evermore"

Hello, Angels!



Book: Evermore

Series: The Immortals

Author: Alyson Noel

Pages: 288

Published in Bulgaria By: SoftPress

Genre: YA Fantasy


After a horrible accident claims the lives of her family, sixteen-years old Ever Bloom can see people's auras, hear their thoughts, and know someone'sentire life story by touching them. Going out of her way to avoid human contact and suppress her abilities,she has been branded a freak at her new high school - but everything changes when she meets Damen Auguste. Damen is gorgeous, and wealthy. He's the only one who can silene the noise and random energy in her head - wielding a magic so intense, it's as though he can peer straight into her soul. As Ever is drawn deeper to his enticing world of secrets and mystery, she's left with more questions than answers. And she has no idea just who he really is - or what he is. The only thing she knows to be true is that she's falling deeply and helplessly in love with him.

Hello, Angels!


New week - new post. In the March Overview I told you that I have read the first book of "The Immortal Series" by Alyson Noel - "Evermore".


Considering all of the other stuff I've promised you already, and the thing that I have the awful habits of reading about fifty books in the same time, I have decided to give you the review of "Evermore" by Alyson Noel.


The first time that I have read this book was when I was sixteen years old - which basically was like (almost) ten years ago. I was extremely impressed with the book back then - I was falling for the main male character, then I was amazed by how great the author is... Going back in time and remembering my reactions then, compared to now when I read the book again... I am wondering where was my brain? What was I thinking to even like this book?! And I do confess that sometimes I read very tasteless books. Sweet muffins!


Now not to confuse you, I will start from the very beginning. The story is awful and uncomprehendable, it's not even precise. Yes, the cover is nice and the description on the back is amazing - then you get the book and want to throw it in the Author's face, or hit her on the head. Yes, sometimes it happens even to the best to read an awful book. I've never thought that I will ever write a bad review, because after all reviews are supposed to be nice, to flatter the book, to tell you how interesting is and prompt other people to read it. Well, not this one. Here's an advise - please, do NOT read this book. Unless you are twelve or thirteen years old - then you might actually like it.


Reading the book again, chapter after chapter I was wondering - couldn't Alyson think of something more original? I've felt like it was bits and parts just copied straight from other books and then patched together with something that doesn't even makes sense. There was also time I was wondering - am I reading a book, or playing 'Guess which part from which series/books has been taken from' game.


The beginning of the story is promising - at least the first two chapters. We have the main heroine Ever, which was super cool and popular, but then due to the accident she moves into new school and is basically hated by everyone, she is considered freak and outsider, and also her new friends are doubtfull if they are actually her friends. And then we have the main male character - extremely beautiful, handsome and very wealthy, drives an expensive car... Yeah, right like when you are seventeen years old it's not suspicious that you are an orphan and you can drive a brand new luxurious car... Then I sigh and I am telling myself - I will get through this book. Horrible decision really. Then there was the dialogues between the characters. Now I'm wondering - is it the Bulgarian translate that sucks or is it the Author's twelve-year old daughter (or her neighbour's one) that actually gave insight to the Author how to made the dialogues... Because they were dreadful. I gave a sigh and continued with my stubborness to finish it. Again - horrible decision. Then I passed half of the book and my eyes started to hurt - so as my dictionary.


There was a story forming out there slowly between the two main characters - Ever and Damien, which then felt more like a game between a cat and a mouse - or like a stalking game. The Author tried really hard to impose the dear old conventional tinking that the two characters must be together, that I wanted to shred the book in pieces.Yes, Damien is running away from Ever, and she is persistant at following him everywhere - that is called stalking, my dear Alyson and last time I checked - it was not okay. I was screaming - please, call the police! But no - no police over here, becaue even though Damien runs from Ever , he says that he likes her/ or loves her. I swallow this complete nonsense and my dreams for a romance are shattered, because Alyson keeps imposing the relationship between the two characters. If that was the main idea of the book - it was very, very bad idea. Oh, let's not forget - Ever completely forgets her friends, just as they forget about her, even though she is obsessed by the idea that her friend might have a new friend. What a plot! Please, don't continue writing. If this was the plot that Alyson actually intended - again, very bad idea. If she wanted to describe the typical teenage drama and friendship - that surely didn't worked out.


Now we are in the discovery of the story evolving - completely preposterous. Damien still runs from Ever, then he asks her out, and I am wondering - WHY?! What is the point of all this? I am at the point of thinking will this ever end? Then there's a new character - Drina - Damien's Ex. Or at least that's what the readers are thinking. We go through some unexpected really bad described drama and the past revealed - completely illogical and out of context. Horrible stuff, really! And after all of this - there is infinite repeatability of the actions of the characters, whomever of course have illogical history and past together... Then we expect that Damien will run and save Ever, right? Because usually the universal way is that the main male character has to always save the day and the girl, right? Well not here! And that is also forgiven, just because I really wanted to end the book and never touch it again. After all, hope dies last.


We go to the end and the story. Has anyone ever heard of mythology? Or at least for research? My guess is Alyson didn't. Usually when people want to write some fantasy they rely on facts, mythology and research about what you will write. That's not the case with Alyson. After all Ever has quite illogical relationship with Damien's and his past (which is supposed to be a fantasy thing but there has to be truth in it, so it would look like believable), well why wouldn't we have complete lack of logical actions and lack of reasearch on the topic whatsoever. That seems okay. I think Alyson decided that it's perfectly okay to take a supernatural twist or to take just an idea that is not that common (like vampires and werewolves) and then write whatever the hell is going in her head. We're used to read nonsense if we have gotten this long throughout the book already. I wish she would've chosen vampires, though. Why? Because you can't go wrong with vampires - you take some garlic, some sunlight intollerance, then a bit of blood drinking and voila - you have a plot that most of the readers are going to die for!


In a conclusion, all I could say is this: DO NOT waste your time, because I've already lost mine with this book and with reading the second one "Blue moon" in a search of hope that it will be something different. Yeah, the second book is also illogical and doesn't have anthing in common with the first, but I guess I shouldn't be suprised by that. I guess I will write a review for "Blue Moon" as well, so you can get the idea.


Now, I will have to give a rating for the books, so here we go.


I never thought that I will write a bad review for a book - but here we are. You will have to excuse me, but I am not going to apologise if my opinion doesn't match with yours. If you have any thought s about the book - please, share those with me. I am so curious to hear!





I think that his book doesn't deserve more than one star, but I don't want to put a lesser rating (and I couldn't find one) so this is why the star is not even golden one. Plus, the cover was good so that has to count for something, right?


I'd rather get to my othere hundred books that I am reading and also to focus on the targets for this week, that I have promised you.


However, I may still write a review on "Blue Moon" but cannot promise you when. So, stay tuned and don't miss out the updates. You just may get the chance to read something bad again - I will try not to, but can't make any promises.


Have fun, smile more and don't forget - A Book A Day Keeps The Reality Away!


XoXo, -K.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page