top of page

What does an Immortal do during "Blue Moon"?


Book: Blue Moon

Series: The Immortals

Author: Alyson Noel

Pages: 263


Things have changed for Ever since she met her beloved Damen - not least because she's got a whole new set of powers, courtesy of her new Immortal status. Just as she's getting stronger, though, Damen seems to be weakening. Panicked at the thought of losing him, Ever finds a path to the in-between world known as Summerland, where she learns the secrets of Damen's tortured past. But in searching for a cure for him, Ever accidentally discovers a way to twist time so she can save her family from the accident that killed them. It's all she's ever wanted - but so is Damen. And Ever must choose between them . . .

Hello, my dearest Angels!


It's about time to have a new review presented.


I've alread mentioned in my previous review of the first book from "The Immortals" series that I've read the second book as well. It's only fair that after I've wasted my time reading it, to write you a review and tell you how disappointed I am from that.


After the alcoholic teenage drama and the mishaps that Ever had in the first book, now we find her in a sweet bliss of happiness with Damen. If we could call that happiness at all. I still can't quite wrap my head around as to why in the first few chapters Ever has everything she wanted in the first book (Damen) and she is still refusing to take the next step in their relationship, especially after centuries of previous lives they haven't consumed their love. And that is not only happening in the first two chapters..It's happening almost throughout half of the book!


After that we get to another genius plot twist - her immortal boyfriend gets sick! I am wondering now which is more absurd - her immortal boyfriend being sick and dumping her, or that she is a teenage girl with lots of hormones going on and she is waiting for millions of years to sleep with him.. Let's not even start with the new character - Roman. Ever doesn't like him at all, but he seems to be into her and why you are wondering? At the end of the book it has enlightened me that he is chasing Ever and wants to take her from Damen because he was in love with Drina - Damen's ex?! Yep. That sounds about right... I am wondering is that a love tetragon or a disaster...


Then we go back to Ever - she is dumped by Damen,again - every person that could think rationally would just give up, right? Not Ever! Never Ever! She is determined to save Damen from the misterious illness and she has decided out of all people in the world to trust who do you think? She is trusting a scetchy psychic Ava, that appeared in the first book for a short while (I've never liked her, but I didn't liked the books in overall so..). Oh, and let's not forget - when everything goes to hell, the best decision that a person can make is to trust the villain, that admitted every bad thing he has done two minutes ago. Logical? I'd say there's none.


I've had the hopes that maybe only the first book would be a mockery but this one.. Oh, this one surpassess the other. Ever is continuously stalking Damen - after all it's quite important a teenage girl to stalk her boyfriend and constantly try and break in his home. Damen.. While in the first book I kinda sympathized and he had a sort of good written character , although completely illogical, in this book... I wanted to tear out the pages in frustration and I've wondered so many times why Ever is actually saving him.. After all the absurdity and nonsense - here comes the grand one: Ever, during the phenomenal event Blue Moon has the unique opportunity to go back in time and has the option to choose: to save Damen or to go back in time and be with her family.


Now don't you dare start thinking that Ever could actually make the right decision and could think reasonably. No. She is far away from that. She is determined to leave Damen and to trust the scetchy psychic Ava to heal him. And guess what - she is back to her family. But is she happy? No. So what does she decides? Nothing rational really. She has decided to go back to Damen and save him. And then? Then she decides to trust the villain instead of the rational thinking. Well, that's our Ever - she never had much going on in the brain department.


I think that after all this morbid monstrocity called book, I would not have the strength to actually read the third one. Sadly - I've already bought them all, and I hate having books that I don't read. I don't know what exactly Alyson was thinking by writing those books or she just saw herself in Ever's character. If it's the first one - I'd understand because the books are completely illogical, but if it's the second one - it's very, very bad thing. The plot twist is irrational, it's unadulteratedly witless, so as the the main character - for whom to take the right decision is the mission impossible. Ever's act is delusional, stupid, volatile and contradictory. Her thinking and brain department - let's not even go there. She is clearly not into that. Oh, and let's not forget Ever's trips to the imaginary misterious dimension Summerland (if you ask me Ever should be hospitalized in a very special place.), where Ever is thoroughly digging in some mystical archives and it's not because she wants to save her boyfriend, it's because she wants to find out about his past... Like she couldn't ask him that...


I can't even tell you how much I wanted to smash Ever's head on the wall - this way at least she might think of something rational, or start thinking at all. I can't tell you how much I did not liked the book. I think that Alyson should find a better job than writing books - obviously that's not her thing. Or is it her publisher's fault? Either way, this book definitely made me hate it. I don't even know if I hate the book or am I just that agitated and frustrated by the lack of thinking by Ever , her lack of decision making and her lack of any logic whatsoever. Maybe Alyson thinks that this kind of nonsense is completely normal when you are sixteen. I really hope that she doesn't think that. Yet again, I am still standing by my opinion - Alyson should've go with vampires.


Obviously I can't say anything good about the book, and I have lost any hope for the third one. Too bad I've bought them all, and now I will have to read them. It's surely that it won't happen any time soon, because I definitely won't have the patience for that torture and for another portion of illogical events in such short period of time.


I didn't thought that I would write a bad review, but here we are yet again. We can't have constantly unicorns and rainbows, after all. So, at the end of the day I do hope I haven't bore you from all of this negativity about the book.If you are eleven or tweleve- this might be the book just for you! I can't say because I've never been good in the teenage thinking but that's because I've always been a bookworm.



This is my rating: 0.5 / 5

But that is only becuse the cover was nice.


However my opinion would be summarized in this:


And if you are wondering how I've felt while reading it, this should match my emotions:

I am leaving you here with the review and I am going to read something way more different and nicer!

If you want to find out more of what's in store for you throughout the week - stay tuned and keep an eye on the Blog!

And don't forget: A book a day keeps the reality away!

As long as it is not that book or those series.


XoXo, -K.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page