top of page

"Empire of Storms" by Sarah J. Maas

Updated: May 8, 2019


Book: "Empire of Storms"

Series: "Throne of Glass"

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Pages: 704


Blood will run. Dreams will shatter. An army must rise.


The assassin-queen has sworn not to turn her back on her kingdom again. Especially when she might be the only one who can raise an army to keep the Dark King from unleashing his beasts upon them all. But Erawan will wield Aelin's past, her allies, and her enemies against her. With a powerful court trusting Aelin to lead them, and her heart devoted to the warrior - prince at her side, what - or who - is she willing to sacrifice to spare her world from being torn apart?




Hello, Angels!


For a very, very long time I have been trying to make myself write this review, and trust me it is so not easy for me. The book stormed in with so many different emotions, that at first I was so eager to read it, that when I have finally finished it - I was so not prepared for what stormed in the last eighty or so pages.


I think that so far "Empire of Storms" is the most impressive and exciting book of them all. Maybe, it's because I haven't read "Kingdom of Ash" yet, but the time will come and my tears would be shed.


I don't even want to think about the fact that I have no idea if I would be emotionally prepared for "Kingdom of Ash" after "Empire of Storms".


However, I have decided this time not to give you any spoilers and not to tell you the story. You will have to read it yourself. Also, I don't want to dive into its details again, because.. (**Look at the picture below.**)

This is an image of how I've been throughout reading the book. It wasn't that pretty though.

With the last couple of books I've carefully chased how Sarah J. Maas is building a complicated net of characters, actions, intrigues- and trust me, this last book was not that different of it. The only difference that was - was with the previous books I've shed a tear or two. Well, it's perfectly normal, don't look at me so judgemental.


However, in this book...

I'll just go ahead and say it - after seven hundred pages of carefully build characters, relationships, intrigues, tough truths spoken and long forgotten thousands of years old secrets revealed- then we get eighty pages of shattered dreams, ruined lives, sorrow.. It was such a hard and unexpected twist of events that my heart broke and I don't think I would be able to ever recover from what I've read. And it doesn't matter that with the previous books I've shed a tear or two - with this one was a whole river. (If you look at exhibit A -the picture above, on the left - is a perfect example of how I've felt.)


I can't say anything less than good, because Sarah J. Maas is brilliant in her writing - describing even the lesser details, not that objective but still enough to make you visualize them and know that they matter. She would make you dive in this wonderful and complicated world of hers with all its amazing characters.


The books were more than ever filled with wars, battles and twisted turns, of course - let's not forget about the magic. More and more, now than ever before, the magic takes the leading role and the thousand eyars old, almost ancient secrets and events, carefully hidden - are finally being revealed.


The Long Lost Princess... Queen of Terrasen. After so many intensed battles, after everything that Aelin has been through,all the disappointment, shattered dreams, betrayal, all that she has lost... Now it's time to face the final battle. I don't want to spoil this and tell you if Aelin and her court win or not... Hoever, my heart broke along with Rowan's because of Aelin's sacrifice.


Sarah has managed to surprise me - after all those books, along with tracing the lives of so many different characters with different paths, here in "Empire of Storms", she gathers all the characters in one place - to fight together in a war, to fight alongside for a greater good, for a better world, all united by Aelin. Because Aelin is that ray of sunshine, bean of hope to every single one of our beloved characters.


All of the characters has walked a long and difficult path from the first book until now, that I can't just pass them by. I will have to mention them even for a little while. (Even though I can't mention every single one of them).


"Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen, knew the time would soon come to prove just how much she'd bleed for Erilea."


Yes, I've cried on that part as well. Because after all those pages I have found out what exactly she has to sacrifice.


Aelin Galathynius is no longer the little girl, that fights all alone against the world. She has finally learned to trust somebody else other than herself, and this book is the perfect example of that.


She is no longer the girl that was afraid of what would happen if she returns and she is no longer afraid of the power that is within along with her Crown. She is the woman, the Queen that is ready to fight for her people, for her kingdom, for her Crown, for her friends, for a better world. And she will fight and win at whatever cost. This is the book that we find out what exactly is Aelin willing to sacrifice for her cause.



"I'd walk into the burning heart of hell itself to find you."


Rowan is no longer the lonely Prince from the previous books. Rowan is selfless, loving, and so fierce in protective. He is completely devoted to his Queen - Aelin. To his Karranam. His Fireheart. And he is just that fierce and mighty, merciless in the cause of protecting his friends.


Dorian has grew so much over the books that I was quite suprised with his new character. Dorian - a man, ready to fight and defend his kingdom and his friends. And he would never pray for mercy to anyone. He has managed to overcome the fear from his magic. He is now a bit cold and cruel. But I definitely like him more.


It seems like Aedion and Lysandra stayed the same, however their stories evolved. Yes, I am with both my hands raised and both my legs up for this relationship. Oh, they are so cute! In this book Sarah showed us more of their past and characters and made me love them even more. Aedion is funny, charming, witty and always try to flirt, but in the same time he is always ready for a fight and to protect his friends. The fierce Wolf of the North. And oh, his father - this cute little kitty cat ... *sorry for the spoiler* #notsorryatall. Lysandra on the other hand - was so charming and witty, and clever and fun, always trying to calm everyone down, trying to end the disagreements and be at peace with everyone. But she is so selfless and fierce, she is ready to die for her friends. And oh, all the amazing creatures she is turning herself into.. Oh, my!


Manon has had a long path to be where she is right now. She has become such an interesting character than the one I've used to read with boredom, the first time I've met her. She has managed to surprise me in so many ways. Oh, and I just adore her beloved Wyvern Abraxos that is just like a big fluffy cute dog.. However, this time the Leader of the Wing has suprised me with the fact that she let herself have feelings, even though that for a century she has been told that witches don't have feelings. Don't have hearts. She has revealed tough secrets from her past, and even with those - she is willing to fight at whatever cost, for her people. Right beside her new found friends of course. Oh, and the romantic spark with Dorian... Oh, my! Oh, my! *fluttering with butterfly eyelashes*


The book has chased a few other interesting characters - Elide Lochan and Lorcan (that I've liked quite a bit as an item, although I wanted to strangle Lorcan at times). Then we've chased Gavriel - The Lion of Doranelle and Fenrys - The Wolf of Doranelle. I have chased their stories and I wish I could just take Fenrys at home and cuddle with him.



The "Throne of Glass" Series are one of those books that you are afraid to start reading because you will read it way too fast, and at the end when you finish it, you regret of reading it too fast, because you want to spend more time with the characters inside. The storyline is complicated, intense and captivating and there were no boring characters. Maybe that's because Chaol was not present in "Empire of Storms".


The main action here is one hell of a storm that swirls away and you can't seem to see past it - it sweeps you off your feet, takes you far away and you still want to find out more. To see more. At the end of the storm there is no sunshine or hope. It throws you out back in the reality, leaves you shaken and terrified. It leaves you with a saddened face, tears rolling down your cheeks, broken heart and shattered dreams.


I can't say that the world describe is boring because that would be a lie. And I could never get bored of diving into Sarah J. Maas' worlds, or to walk in the pages with her characters.


I can't wait to dive in the last book of the series - "Kingdom of Ash" and meet my favorite characters yet again. I am sure that the ending would be just as epic as with the previous books, or even more and I am trying to prepare myself mentally for what is to come.


Just in case if you have been wondering how I've survived this book - look on your left and check the Exhibit Picture B.


Yes, that is exactly how I was throughout the whole seven hundred plus pages. Almost eight hundred.


As usual, Sarah didn't disappoint me and I can't wait to get to the last book to see the Epic ending of this Saga. I am sure that it will be just as epic as the previous books.



My Rating to this book cannot be lower than this, so here it is:

5/5 Golden Starts (even though there were so many tears that I've cried)


I would say that I am going to read "Tower of Dawn", however I've already did. You can expect the review of it quite soon.


Now, I am going to enjoy the warm sunshine, that is inviting me on my balcony with a promise of a warm reading. Until a rainy storm hasn't ragged throught the sunshine that is. Yes, storms are not happening only in Sarah's books.


And you, my Angels - Don't stop reading!


You should know by now: A book a day keeps the reality away!


XoXo, -K.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page