top of page

Don't look behind the "Third Grave Dead Ahead"


Book: "Third Grave Dead Ahead"

Author: Darynda Jones

Series: "A Charlie Davidson's Story"

Pages: 324


Charlie Davidson: Paranormal private eye. Grim reaper extraordinaire. Whatever.


Charley Davidson is back! And she's drinking copious amounts of caffeine to stay awake because, every time she closes her eyes, she sees him: Reyes Farrow, the part-human, part-supermodel son of Satan.


Yes, she did imprison him for all eternity, but come on. How is she supposed to solve a missing persons case, deal with an ego-driven doctor, calm her curmudgeonly dad, and take on a motorcycle gang hellbent on murder when the Devil's son just won't give up?


Hello, Angels!


The third book of the series by Darynda Jones is just a gem in the crown - brilliant addition to the novels. And that's not because Charlie is addicted to coffee just like me - that's just a bonus.


Charlie is more sarcastic and funnier than ever, we see a bit more about the devilish nature of Reyes, Charlie and Cookie are having the most fun conversations ever, and Mr. Wong... he is still in the corner.


In this book Charlie is working on the next mysterious case - she has to find the missing wife of a very famous doctor. And while everyone is trying to kill Charlie, some even almost succeed, Reyes kidnapps her and her father is trying to make her quit her job as P.I.


While working on the case with the missing woman, Reyes convinces Charlie to find his not - so - dead - anymore father. Now we add another person that would want to kill Charlie - and he almost did at the end of the book. It seems like Reyes will finally get out of prison, and just when I wanted to make happy noise and go all mushy over him because of the eventual romance sparks between Charlie and Reyes... Things goes horribly wrong. Especially , when Charlie finally unbind Reyes (because in the last book she bind him to his corporeal body), and she is now making out with the leader of a biker gang.. in front of Reyes who watches her out of the shadows.


Oh, and like that's not enough, Charlie finds out from a Nun that could overhear the Angels talk that she would have a Guardian Angel. Almost throughout the whole book I thought that the Guardian Angel would be the scary little girl with a knife in her hand instead of a toy... however it turned out to be a very different thing.


I just cannot be indifferent as to what happened in this book.


No matter how much I like Reyes, there were so much times that I've felt that he is so obsessed of having sex with Charlie. Oh, please, get over yourself! You deffinitely cannot act with the woman you love like she is a piece of meat. Sometimes I was quite annoyed with Charlie and how she is allowing this, but I guess I can understand her... I would give in, too, if I was in her shoes. And who wouldn't?


If we set this aside, the book definitely has taken a toll in the relationship between Charlie and Reyes, and so as between Charlie and her father. I used to like her father - now, not so much.


Well, sometimes it happens with the books - they surprise you, but it's not necessary the surprise to be a pleasant one.


Overall, the book did surprised me - very skilled Darynda chased up what would happen if you bind the son of Satan to his corporeal body and how much pissed he can be; she managed to describe perfectly sarcastic what a girl has to do to stay awake for two weeks and just so dramatically managed to kill one of my favorite characters so far, and to show us a quite different point of view of a caring and loving father.


Darynda Jones' books are briliantly gathering, filled with well measured sarcasm, humour, mystery and romance. And I can't keep my hands and eyes off of them.


Yes, I know I am huge fan of Reyes, but in this book I didn't like him that much - maybe that was because I saw the devilish side of him. Well, he is after all the son of Satan.. what else could we expect of him?


On the contrary, Charlie is amazing, badass, more sarcastic and I can't stop reading about her adventures. I wonder sometimes how does she manages to stay alive... Good thing is that she is a Grim Reaper and she can heal faster than a regular human being, otherwise she would be dead by the end of the first book.


I cannot give less than 5/5 Golden stars to the book.


The third book of Charlie Davidson's adventures is surely not to be underestimated. It was more of a filler to the events of the previous two books, but it left me with quite anticipation to read the next one.


Ah, it is so bad that here in Bulgaria they have published only until the third book and not the rest... Maybe I should have a word with a publisher or two, so they could re-think that matter.


In any case I would give my best to find the rest of the books, because I just have to know what would happen next!


I will leave you here, my Angels since I have to do a deep and thorough search on the internet about the fantastic Darynda Jones' books and where to find them.


And you - keep thinking about Reyes and Charlie!


And don't forget: A book a day keeps the reality away!


XoXo, - K.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page