top of page

"A Court of Mist and Fury" by Sarah J. Maas


Book: A Court of Mist and Fury

Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Pages: 626


Feyre survived Amarantha's clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can't forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin's people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.


Hello, Angels!


The time has come to this book also to get its review.


I’ve read the book for the first time in December last year and I fell in love with it so much that I bought another copy, so I can just mark down all the cute and amazing moments. Without wasting any more time, I will just go straight to the review! Enjoy! P.S. It will be quite long.


Feyre got out from Under the Mountain, but she paid a great price - she has been turned into an immortal fae. She has returned to the Spring Court but she is constantly tortured by nightmares and painful memories from Under the Mountain. Sadly the strong and feisty girl that ran to save the man of her life, the one that she loves with all her heart is gone - there’s nothing left of her, she died Under the Mountain. I thought that in the second book I will see the relationship between Feyre and Tamlin evolve. I hoped the fairy tale would continue. I expected Tamlin to be loving and completely devoted to Feyre just like she is to him. Instead I saw something quite disturbing and shocking. I can now say that Tamlin is the character that disappointed me the most!


Tamlin is utterly careless of Feyre’s condition and he doesn’t care how she feels. He was so afraid to lose her again and so desperately hold on to the idea that it became a mania. And Feyre… Feyre couldn’t stand and watch day after day how Tamlin is ignoring her, keeping her away from everything, constantly leaving her with Ianthe. (I hate Ianthe so much and she doesn’t even deserve to be mentioned!) And my poor Feyre, she didn’t even dared to say exactly how she feels and didn’t know how to talk with Tamlin. I thought that she would marry him and hoped that he would change. Now I can definitely say that Tamlin is the character I hated the most (besides the villains of course).


Lucien is passive again. Big surprise there! Yes, he might be a friend to Feyre, but he is a loyal friend to Tamlin in the first place so there we have it. This passive and extreme loyalty is the thing that annoyed me most. Throughout the entire time he saw what Feyre has to go through, he saw how she is withering day after day and did he do anything about it? Why yes of course! He insisted on Feyre to keep her mouth shut and give Tamlin some more time because you see, Tamlin has important stuff to do. This stupid loyalty and passive behavior drove me crazy and no matter how good was he and how many reasons he has… No matter how different point of views Sarah could show me about Lucien - I will still not like him.


I cannot say that Feyre’s character didn’t develop because it did. She went through all those monstrosities in Under the Mountain that we no longer see her as the naive girl, but as a woman who is so lost and devastated that she is desperately trying to find herself again. I expected Feyre to finally dump Tamlin at the altar, because his extreme jealousy drove me crazy but the good thing is that we have Rhys to save her from that! And of course from the horrible dress that she has been forced to wear.

With so much anticipation I’ve turned over the pages and expected Rhys to be cold, cruel and arrogant towards Feyre as he was in the first book.


And I was left so surprised by the complete opposite! I’ve expected the Night Court to be horrifying because after all Amarantha made her Court - Under the Mountain as an exact copy of the Night Court, but instead I’ve found this beautiful and serene city Velaris and I’ve fallen in love. I wish I could just move in there!

After all, Rhys was amazing with Feyre - taught her to read and write, didn’t keep her as a prisoner and he made sure she would feel safe and comfortable - just like home. Wait a minute - isn’t that supposed to have happened in the Spring Court and Tamlin to take care of her instead of Rhys?


It doesn’t matter. Either way I like Rhys since the first book no matter how he has acted. Here I’ve managed to know him even more, and trust me - if he was real I would put a ring on his finger straight away! I liked how with every page I’ve gotten to know him more and more and that I’ve managed to find out that behind every action of his there is a serious reason; he is not so coldblooded and heartless after all. This is just a mask that he has put off specially for Feyre. He showed so much emotion and so much of his past; he shared what kind of a weight he has on his shoulders and he has suffered so much in Under the Mountain. Being around him Feyre managed to heal her broken heart little by little and her soul after the horrors that Amarantha put her through.


I loved the moments between them, the crazy and sarcastic comments, the erotic intentions and… well - EVERYTHING!


Rhys was not afraid to help Feyre, to teach her, because he knows exactly how she feels and what she is going through. Because he is also going through the same thing and he doesn’t want her to be all alone.


So along with Rhys I have got to know his Inner Circle as well - new and very interesting and charming characters. Trust me - since their first appearance I’ve loved them all.


Cassian is a typical male fae - arrogant, snappy, sarcastic and deadly. With a huge heart full of love but he hides a dark and painful past. Cassian has brought to the book this amazing and funny hint of sarcasm and laughter that just makes you smile and laugh. I wish I could get a book only about Cassian and prepare to read this - and Nesta. Yes, no matter how much I don’t like her I think they would be a good pair. No wonder if he could so easily melt her ice cold heart and beat her butt a bit, so she could start and act like a normal person.


Azriel was the mysterious male fae, quiet and just as deadly as Cassian. But he is the one that completes the impulsive Cassian because he is so thoughtful and kind. After all, I couldn’t be indifferent to him and he won a piece of my heart.


Morrigan is another character that caught my attention since the very first sentence. She is spirited, charming, witty, funny, loyal and filled with hopes and dreams in a Court of Nightmares. At the same time she has her own story to tell and she is ready to blow you away like a hurricane if you do so much to even think about hurting her friends.


Amren is the total opposite - she is pure evil trapped in a body of a fae. Amren is something out of this world, waiting to be released upon Prythian. She is deadly but beautiful and she could only scare you with so much but a glance. Everyone is afraid from Amren and are very careful what they would say to her because nobody would be surprised if she just snaps and commit a coldblooded murder. And even though she is so cold and evil, Amren is loyal to the Inner Circle and to Rhys - to her friends and I did love her so much.


I did enjoy how quickly the Inner Circle have accepted Feyre and at the end of the book they all became Feyre’s family. The one she never got to have. Every character was different, unique and they all completed each other.


Do you remember Feyre’s family? Yes, Nesta and Elain. Well they are present in this book as well. Elain is still quiet and shy and Nesta - a total and utter snake. Yes, I definitely don’t like Nesta. I even liked Amarantha more than Nesta.


Out of all the four books (yes, I’ve read them all), I have to say that this one is my favorite. I love to sprint through the pages and before my eyes to watch the love between Feyre and Rhys blossom; I loved how from total strangers, the Inner Circle became friends, protectors and a family for Feyre; I loved how with every single page the characters develop even more. I could never miss out the intense and serene storyline, the dangers and trials that our characters go through and what they were ready to do for those who love.


Since the review yet again has become too long, I would only say this:

- I love all of Sarah J. Maas’ books.

- I love her style and I love her writing

- I definitely love the fact that with every single page the story gets even more complicated and intense and the storyline and plot has even more action, evolving, intrigues, secrets and romance.


I really don’t know if I will ever stop reading her books, even though I may have read them two hundred times before.





It’s obvious that I can’t give out less than

5 / 5 golden stars for this book.


And now my dearest Angels, I am going to finish another book. (No, it’s not ‘A Court of Mist and Fury’ because I’ve already read it.) Do you want to find out which one it is? Keep an eye on the blog and stay tuned!


And remember: A book a day keeps the reality away!


XoXo, - K.


25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page