top of page

"A Court of Frost and Starlight" by Sarah J. Maas


Book: A Court of Frost and Starlight

Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Pages: 299


Feyre, Rhys, and their close-knit circle of friends are still busy rebuilding the Night Court and the vastly-changed world beyond. But Winter Solstice is finally near, and with it, a hard-earned reprieve.

Yet even the festive atmosphere can't keep the shadows of the past from looming. As Feyre navigates her first Winter Solstice as High Lady, she finds that those dearest to her have more wounds than she anticipated--scars that will have far-reaching impact on the future of their Court.


Hello, Angels!


I am back with a new book review!


After the end of “A Court of Wings and Fury” I couldn’t wait to see my favorite characters yet again and to see how they are doing after the war, how their life is going on.

To be honest I was expecting to see the finale that I didn’t got in “A Court of Wings and Fury”. Yet, I might say that I got it, but only half of it.


In “A Court of Frost and Starlight” my favorite and beloved Inner circle along with whole Velaris is trying to recover from the war - physically and mentally.


I think I will start commenting this book from the end to the beginning.


It’s obvious that I will start with Nesta. Maybe I did sympathized to this girl in “A Court of Wings and Fury” however I cannot say the same here. I’ve had quite enough of drunk and alcoholized actions on her side, quite rude behavior, unreasonable hatred and very immature and selfish side of her. Yes, she might be living in her own world of self pity, and she might be going through a lot, she might have depression and post traumatic stress, but come on! Please, take this girl to psychiatrist!


P.S. Cass, please, don’t you even think about going after this horrible girl! Take me instead!

I could only say that Feyre was right to kick her out. If I were in Feyre’s shoes I would kick out Nesta, too!


Now that we’ve settled up the argument with Nesta, I guess it’s time to move forward.


I guess I will continue with Elain. I have already started with the Archeron sisters, so I guess it’s only fair. The sweet and cute Elain, that turned out to be an oracle. Well, I guess she must have some special powers after all. I still don’t see her with Lucien and I am still supporting with both my hands Elain + Azriel. Overall, I wasn’t so impressed with her throughout the series, however she so much reminded me of my little sister, that I can’t just be indifferent to her. Maybe, I should tell Sarah to work on Elain’s character a bit more and develop it. Hm…


Okay, now it’s Feyre’s time. Feyre - the High Lady of the Night Court. I think that I could talk about Feyre as much as I can talk about Rhys. After what she has endured in “A Court of Thorns and Roses”, then in “A Court of Mist and Fury” and after the horror she went through in “A Court of Wings and Ruin” and the destruction after the war, I wanted to see her finally recovering from all of this. I wanted to see her paint again, to be happy. Not that she is not happy with Rhys and the Inner Circle in the Night Court but… Okay, I will admit it - I miss the amazing artistic Feyre, seeing and feeling with her soul, in a beautiful world of colors and shades. That is exactly what I got here and I am extremely delighted. Oh, and let’s not forget the amazing gift that she gave Rhys - her consent and her desire to have a baby! Now I can’t even wait to see the cute little roll of happiness that would look just like Rhys. Okay fine… um.. to read about it.


I loved the moments when Feyre and Cass got drunk while decorating for the Solstice and Juleda. Oh, I really laughed my butt off! But in the same time it got me so excited and happy from this serene, warm and happy moment that I cried a little. But it was a happy tears.


It’s quite obvious that I can talk about Rhys all eternity long and I am so happy that he is close to his loved ones, that he is also happy. I even felt happy when Rhys showed me how good he is and that he wanted to make peace with Tamlin when he visited him - so he can forgive Tamlin. Because they were friends once.

Overall the book showed a different aspect of my favorite characters, that are still trying to recover from the war - each in their own way and together as a family. The book is a perfect Christmas tale.


So far so good. Or at least it sounds good, however I cannot deny that this book as any other has its flaws. There were a few things that were completely out of place, then a few things that were pointless and useless. There were also times when I even lost interest. I missed the main point and the main idea that the reader should get out of the book. Instead of answering all my questions after “A Court of Wings and Ruin”, this book managed to leave me with many new ones. Also I was not a big fan of the open ending.

Yes, for the first time in so long I could honestly say that I was a bit disappointed from Sarah’s book. And yes, I will not apologize for this. I think that Sarah could do a bit better and give us a completed and breathtaking finale.


I cannot deny that there were lots of interesting moment, and funny ones, but I guess they were not enough for me. I can’t forgive Sarah that she left me hanging there waiting for the continuation of the book with the promise of something more.


Yes, maybe the main point of the book was completely different - Sarah wanted the main idea of this to be the feelings and the mental state of our beloved characters, their souls after the war. Still I can’t accept that. Maybe this is just a short story and something to read and until she give us the epic finale of the series.


It’s obvious though that it’s not so easy to recover from a war and even if you do you will never be the same. For me that is the whole point of the book.


And no matter how disappointed I am and that it wasn’t enough for me, it was way too short, I can not say that I don’t appreciate the thought of the book. Yes, I am well aware that Sarah is brilliant and she will surprise us with something out of this world. And yes, I was able to see a whole different side of our beloved characters - the ordinary, human side of them with trivial and completely human emotions, hopes, desires and dreams. And I would be forever grateful to Sarah for that.


P.S. Cass, just so you know, if you decide - I will be here and wait for you! Call me!


And as a finale I will leave this here: Book Rating: 4 / 5 Stars


And don't forget Angels:


See you in the next review!


XoXo, - K.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page